Finally finished LITTLE & LION…

You know, I used to be the type of person that had an Excel doc where I kept track of every single book I owned, where I acquired it, and where it currently was geographically. I began this spreadsheet in 2009 before I moved to Boston from Texas because I wanted to remember what books were hidden somewhere in boxes at my parents’ house for when I needed them. I stopped doing this around 2013 for reasons (I moved 5 times that year, acquired an absurd amount of books, and in general am garbage). The spreadsheet is now lost in the Great Computer Crash of 2016 (RIP Best Friend). Even then I was a bad reader though. I am a bad reader. I’m just a horrible reader. I don’t finish things. When I’m not in the mood, I stop. Sometimes it takes me years to read one book. When I had my spreadsheet, I could see it. Date acquired: date finished. What an accountability partner. Now I don’t have that, but what I do have is stacks of books all over my apartment that mock me with their beautiful spines and many, many pages of words.

Do you know how many books I have begun this year that I have not finished? Or put down toward the end of 2016 and haven’t finished? I will list some of them for you:

THE ARGONAUTS by Maggie Nelson
HOMEGOING by Yaa Gyasi
FLEDGLING by Octavia Butler
THE HATE U GIVE by Angie Thomas
THE LADIES OF GRACE ADIEU by Susannah Clarke
THE ROSE SOCIETY by Marie Lu
LIZARD RADIO by Pat Schmatz (there is literally one chapter left, I swear, I’m garbage)
I COULD LIST MORE, I COULD GO ON, BUT I WILL SPARE YOU.

Anyway, this is a celebration post, I finished LITTLE & LION by Brandy Colbert this morning. I have finished my first actual book (unpublished manuscripts don’t count) of 2017 (on friggin’ April 30th – FIVE MONTHS IN). It doesn’t come out until August, but quick, someone read it so we can talk about it.* Go, go, go!

*Told you I’m garbage.

Leave a Reply

